Adapted by the company from the picture book by Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler (Macmillan Children’s Books)

Current company

Rebecca Newman
The Gruffalo
Elliot Rodriguez
Jake Addley
Understudy/Assistant Stage Manager
Ashley Sean-Cook
Company Stage Manager
Rachel Pryce


Olivia Jacobs
Creative Producer
Toby Mitchell
Isla Shaw
Lighting Designer
James Whiteside
Morag Cross
Associate Director
Sam Conway
Associate Choreographer
Bex Allingham
Music and Lyrics
Jon Fiber
Robin Price
Olivia Jacobs
Andy Shaw
Music Production
Jon Fiber and Andy Shaw for Shock Productions
UK General Management
Kenny Wax Family Entertainment
UK Production Manager
Nick May
Thanks to
Julia Donaldson MBE, Axel Scheffler and all at Macmillan Children’s Books; our initial devisers Tom Banks, Felix Hayes and Sharon McArdle, and all previous Gruffalo casts; all at Jacksons Lane; all at our tour venues and rehearsal rooms; Clare Fischer; all at CPT (especially Shaun Glanville) and at the Diorama; the Tall Stories board members; Dan, Joe, Jessica, George and their parents. 'The Gruffalo' is for Mia.

Previous team members

Sharon McArdle (original production), Claire Knight, Hilda Gardner, Alice Parsloe, Samantha Barron, Emma Manton, Michaela O’Connor, Becky Kitter, Abbey Norman, Karina Garnett, Sharon Thompson, Louise Mai Newberry, Caroline Garland, Naomi Said, Crystal Hegedis, Alex Tregear, Josie Cerise, Susanna Jennings, Luanna Priestman, Ellie Bell, Angela Laverick
The Predators
Tom Banks (original production), Robert Evans, Michael Lambourne, Andrew Hoggarth, Gareth Farley, Sean Kempton, Alex Perkins, Austin Mitchel Hewitt, Joseph Carey, Jonathan Race, Alex Scott Fairley, Tim Stedman, Rob Copeland, Paul Lancaster, Napoleon Ryan, Stephen Anderson, David Garrud, Daniel Foxsmith, Will Towler, Tim Richey, Charlie Guest, Alastair Chisholm
The Gruffalo
Felix Hayes (original production), Scott Ironside, Ben Phillips, Colin Adrian, Derek Elroy, Nick Ash, Mark Peachey, James Gitsham, Duncan Foster, Ross Hugill, Alan Park, Tamlyn Henderson, Scott Armstrong, Tom Crook, Tim Hibberd, Owen Guerin, Aaron Millard, Steve McCourt
Paul Matania, Jeremy Randall, Alastair Chisholm
Company Stage Manager
Benjamin Luke, Jules Millard, Charlie Hodsdon
Associate/assistant director
Luanna Priestman (associate), Joe Hancock (assistant)
Original design/construction
Zahra Premji, Katie Avis, Neil Gavin and Gus Houssein